The Happy Documentary :)

image1 (1) copy.PNG

As a sucker for a good documentary, I sat down the other day and watched The Happy Movie. I realised I was a bit late in seeing this as it was made in 2012 but what an eye-opener it is. If anyone hasn’t seen this and has an interest in what makes a happy life and likes a bit of science thrown in to back it up, I would completely recommend this.

It’s a wonderful documentary that gives a fascinating look at the science behind happiness – following people from all walks of life from the slums of Kolkata to Tokyo and seeing who is happy and what elements in our lives create this widely sought-after emotion. I think you can probably guess what these are but if you have a spare 1hr 15 mins then it really is worth a watch (I’ve posted the trailer below) 🙂

“The formula for happiness is not the same for everyone, but the good news is that the things we love to do are the building blocks of a happy life: play, having new experiences, friends and family, doing things that are meaningful, appreciating what we have – these are the things that make us happy and they’re free. With happiness, the more you have, the more everyone has.”

 

5 thoughts on “The Happy Documentary :)

  1. Vernon

    Hi Jenny,

    I think we all want to be happy, I know I do. Music and dancing seems to work for me.
    I’m glad you added the trailer because what was interesting to me was how they were willing to measure depression but not happiness.
    Happiness can be found in a simple thanks.
    I seen your blog over at Mostly Blogging Meet and Greet and I like your blog.
    Vernon

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A Life Less Ordinary

      Hi Vernon, thanks for stopping by! I think it’s crazy that people have studied psychology in terms of the negative but positive psychology is becoming more recognised now which is great. Surely it’s just as important to find out what makes someone happy as it is to know what makes someone depressed. Thank you for your great comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

