8 Ways To Create a Positive Day From Your Morning Routine

tumblr_lw2l4yCqhG1qc4uvwo1_500

We all know that starting the day on a positive note can set us up for a more positive day. But how often do we do this? How often do we intend to get up 15 minutes earlier but once that damn alarm goes off we reach out for that snooze button?

A lot of the time we can end up rushing too much in the mornings which can inadvertently cause us unneeded stress, anxiety and panic. But is this really necessary? Do we realise how much a structured morning routine can help us with our day and overall happiness? Don’t get me wrong, I know how hard it can be sometimes to get the strength to get out of bed especially if you’ve had an unrestful night sleep or you have trouble sleeping in general. But there’s a great power in getting up a little bit earlier.

1. Appreciate and enjoy your morning shower.ย We can enjoy a slightly longer shower that wakes us up better. It’s a small price to pay for getting out of bed earlier. If you’re really brave, then try a cold shower – many, many health benefits but in truth one of the worst yet most invigorating experiences I’ve had! (Not for the faint-hearted!)

2. Make time for a good breakfast.ย The act of not rushing around results in us being more mindful. We have more time to make a decent, healthy breakfast and actually savour it setting our body up with a good injection of fuel instead of grabbing the easiest or unhealthiest breakfast – or worst still, no breakfast at all ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

3. Meditate.ย A great thing to do is actually meditate every morning. I started doing this about a year ago (no, I’m not a mediating guru – my mind wanders all over the place!). Now I’ve somehow managed to make it well and truly part of my routine – it clears my head, sets me up for the day and puts my brain into mindfulness mode which carries on throughout my day. I really noticed how much it changed my outlook and helped me cope with the day ahead.

4. Don’t expose yourself to negative news.ย Cut out listening to or reading the news. In an earlier postย Is The News Having An Impact On Your Happiness?ย I talked about how listening to the news (which is primarily negative) can deplete your happiness. If the news is the first thing you immerse your mind in then perhaps stop. Read more positive news – you want toย protect your positive vibe as much as possible.

5. Don’t check emails and social media.ย I’m sure most of us are guilty of this. You wake up and the first thing you check is Facebook, Twitter, WordPress ๐Ÿ˜‰ or emails. I’m not saying to stop checking but try not to let this be the first thing you do when you wake up. At least try to reduce it. Facebook especially can sometimes be a downer which we don’t need first thing in the morning.

6. Spend time outside.ย If it’s a nice morning, spend time sitting out in the garden or porch. Maybe eat your breakfast out there. Go for a quick walk and just appreciate being out in the fresh air.

7. Exercise.ย The morning is a perfect time to do your exercise routine. It gets it out of the way and releases those endorphins that carry on all the way through the day. Whether it’s running, cycling, yoga or just going for a walk. It will do wonders for your outlook.

8. Be present with the people you live with. Some of us have kids to deal with in the mornings which can cause us to rush, get stressed or frustrated. Get up a bit earlier and allow yourself to enjoy the moments you have with them. With more time you can appreciate the little conversations you have with others instead of frustration-induced rushing. You’ll be more relaxed and create a much more positive atmosphere which will rub off on those around you.

Our morning routines are really so crucial for our happiness. Having that extra time in bed may seem like a good idea at the time but at what price? We are robbing ourselves of the opportunity to have mindful moments, chances to set up a proper structure to the rest of our day and ultimately screwing with our happiness levels. It might not seem like much but implementing a solid, relaxed routine will help you in many ways and increase happiness much more than you realise ๐Ÿ™‚

28 thoughts on “8 Ways To Create a Positive Day From Your Morning Routine

  1. scribbleartie

    How timely is this?! Only this week I made a commitment to myself to do one hour of exercise/yoga in the morning. I did it today, and have been feeling great all day! (Normally my mornings are spent bumbling around feeling vaguely stressed, ha!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny M

      Checking social media is so easy to do though! Sometimes I do it without even realising. Definitely try meditation though – you’ll feel much better for it than seeing how hungover Steve was last night on Facebook!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. Miriam

    These are great tips Jenny. Not sure about the morning cold shower, brrr, but the rest are so true. Wish I could get my act together to meditate in the morning but I can’t seem to drag myself out of bed! Terrific post, thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny M

      Thanks you ๐Ÿ™‚ Haha! I think people should try a cold shower at least once but I expect most people won’t do it again after that ๐Ÿ˜€ So hard to find motivation in the mornings. I usually meditate just sitting up in bed means I don’t have to move far haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam

        I’ve had a few cold showers in my life, definitely invigorating. As for meditating in bed, I like that idea. Sometimes I do it at night, but ultimately I end up falling asleep, which kind of defeats the purpose!

        Like

    1. Jenny M

      Thanks Kim! Yes, you should try – perfect time to do it really. I just said to someone else, I usually just sit in bed and meditate – definitely the lazy version but better than nothing ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Marie Therese

      I completely agree. If I dismiss my morning routine, my day is off-kilter, either by a little or a lot! Without meditating, I feel like I can’t properly digest everything that comes my way!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Jenny M

        I’m completely the same – I’m quite a stickler for mornings. If I’m rushed in anyway I get quite stressed and it never really leaves me for the rest of the day.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Annette

    Good tips and I am going to reblog this. On Tues of each week I post “My thinking corner” my friend Jacqueline hosts this. It is basically all the positive you advice thoughts or anything positive. I just link mine to hers and so do other folks. Check my past posts out just search my thinking corner and it should bring them up. I have been sick so I missed a few lol…would love to have you join in!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Mix Plate #27 – Blog of Hammad Rais

Leave a Reply

