5 Reasons Why Experiences Make Us Happier Than Possessions

Untitled

I’m not trying to shamelessly plug my Lifehack article – I promise! But since I was planning to write about this topic as a blog post I thought that it would make sense to publish it here too.

Money and possessions are a big fraud when it comes to happiness. We seem to always believe that the more money we have the more happy we become but loads of research has found that this isn’t the case. The money that we do have should be spent wisely but do we spend it wisely? We buy things that seemingly make us happy but do they? Or are there better things to spend our money on?

My article discusses the 5 reasons why spending money on experiences will make us happier than buying material thingsΒ πŸ™‚

Read the article here:

5 Reasons Why Experiences Make Us Happier Than Possessions

 

 

12 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why Experiences Make Us Happier Than Possessions

  1. Marie Therese

    I liked this article so much! Thanks for sharing lots of good information. I especially liked the bit about experiences being creating more connection than material things. Experiences are what great stories are made of πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny M

      Thank you Marie πŸ™‚ It’s very true, I think the best friendships can come from experiences and just talking about them can definitely open the door to finding new people to experience things with!

      Like

  2. Miriam

    Great post Jenny. I’m a big believer in experiences over money, always have been. Maybe that’s why I enjoy camping so much and getting back to basics. Proves we don’t need much to have a good time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny M

      We really don’t! I think we get so much more out of doing things with the ones we love. It’s what life’s all about and it’s what we’re going to remember the most at the end of the day!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dreamhowl

    You should share your articles, and be proud of them! I do feel happy when I get new gadgets (my new phone, for example) but agree that my experiences take precedence in my memories. The vacations we go on during the summer, simple camping trips, still make me really happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: 5 Reasons Why Experiences Make Us Happier Than Possessions | MadeleineMaya

  5. harbsblog

    I really try to live my life this way. I have found incredible satisfaction in my travels and am so thankful for the person they have shaped me to be. I endeavour to see the big picture because my experiences have told me how big the world is and how intricate and dynamic life can be.
    I see in my surroundings the pressures to dress well, post nice Instagram pictures, be good at makeup…
    There is so much superficialness that has become a norm in our society, yet all of it is done with temporary satisfaction. I am a woman who aims to enrich the content of my mind and uphold a character of integrity above all else.
    Thanks for your post, I enjoyed reading it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

