Are You Happy In Your Career?

5557f183fe65c29c607c0a7e_557a79c09041f3fc4091d51f_320

Happiness in our work and career is often overlooked. We are told from a young age that we work to make money and not to be happy but since the majority of us spend most of our lives in our job, isn’t it important to be happy while doing it?

While a lot of the time it could be a simple mindset change or creating a different perspective on our job, I think many of us fall into a career that we just don’t get excited about. We often get told that dreaming big doesn’t pay the bills and being successful in something that you’re passionate about or suits your ideal lifestyle is reserved for the lucky few.

We dream about escaping the 9-5 chains of the office, in a job that involves meetings, spreadsheets and endless back and forth emails. Whatever job you do, does it make you happy?

A lot of changes have happened in my life over the last few years – being made redundant from my 9-5 office job in London, travelling to China to teach English, moving to Norway for almost 3 years, and then making the decision to move back home. Career-wise, after a whirlwind few years, I suddenly found myself lost as to what I wanted to do and spent endless days searching for jobs I had experience in but wasn’t really interested in doing Β – it was soul-destroying.

Until one day I realised I didn’t want to spend hours commuting to a job I didn’t want to do, in a place I didn’t want to be. I wanted freedom, I wanted to do a job on my own terms, I didn’t want to sit in an interview trying to convince someone I can do a job I ultimately didn’t want to do. It was a journey and one where I had to believe I could achieve what I want in life and life is too short to be spending it in an unhappy state.

I started this blog and from this I realised how much I loved writing. From no experience, I applied for a few writing jobs and I’m now turning this into a freelance career – one where I have the freedom to be creative and do what I love most – travel!! I’ve just come back from Paris and Prague which I wouldn’t have been able to do so easily if I had gone for that long-commuting office job. I don’t know where it’ll take me but I know I’m happy and that’s what counts πŸ™‚

I wanted to write this for anyone who is currently unhappy in their job. If you are, I would strongly recommend you to read a wonderful book calledΒ Be A Free Range HumanΒ by Marianne Cantwell. It really helps you understand what you really want to do with your working life – it’s not a cliche book about how to find your passionΒ but it’s about what lifestyle you want and focusing on what ultimately makes you happy.

So don’t think you can’t be happy in your job. We live in a time when people are breaking free from the jobs they hate and realising that it’s not all about slaving away until we finally retire looking back and wondering what we got out of it. You deserve to be happy all day every day so make it a reality πŸ™‚

 

17 thoughts on “Are You Happy In Your Career?

  1. Pingback: Post of Note Week 11 – A Kinder Way

  2. transitionnext

    I have been blessed in having a number of careers with one organization. But I think our perspective and what’s important to us changes with time. You are spot on with this post. After much thought I have started training for something in an entire new direction. Cheers for the confirmation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Money or happiness? (A 2 minute read) – Priyanka Naik

    1. Jenny M

      Thanks for your comment! I’m glad I’m not the only one feeling the same πŸ™‚ I would recommend reading that book if only to reinforce the idea of pursuing your career path πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

